Morgan Sutherland: PLSS hacking

Date: August 12, 2011 6:25:01 PM EDT

Hey Michal,

On 2011-08-12, at 6:15 PM, Michal Seta wrote:
> I considered multicast but have not yet tried it with the arduino.  It's probably doable...

Probably not worth the time/headache. Should be sufficient to put a sticker with the send/receive IP's on the box and maybe make an API over ethernet where you can change the outbound IP's if it's trivial. 

Not being a plant expert, I don't know what data rate makes sense, once an hour?  I can make it configurable.

At least ten time per second or so, and do make it tunable. No reason to cut bandwidth for no reason – we believe in keeping as much data as possible for as 'long' as it's practical (just don't send at max speed / w/o delays!)

> The recent version of arduino (0022) includes the RawUDP code by Björn Hartmann.

Great, then you're set.

> I know of at least 2 objects for Pd that can handle tcp.  One pair (send/receive) developed at Concordia.

UDP is preferred.

> I can, right now, communicate locally with Pd (in UDP) using static IPs but the system does not rely on this communication to function.  I intend to use Pd to prototype a monitoring and configuration interface.

Great! Thank you. This is a nice surprise for me – I assumed I was going to have to do this in September/October.

Cheers,