Winter Crops

Winter is nearly upon us, and what could be a better time to begin a vegetable garden?! 

I've ordered some vegetable germs from High Mowing Seeds. I was lucky enough to take a few workshops at High Mowing's Vermont field laboratory this summer, and I love the variety of plants they've made available to organic farmers. 

Here's what we've got coming in the mail:

Oregon Sugar Pod II Snow Pea

Scotia Tomato

Chives

Nufar F1 Hybrid Basil

Socrates F1 Cucumber

Sugar Dumpling F1 Hybrid

Corvair F1 Spinach

Orion F1 Pepper

Korridor F1 Hybrid Kohlrabi

Ripbor F1 Hybrid Kale

White Satin F1 Hybrid Carrot

Purple Tomatillo

Black Futzu Pumpkin

Kentucky Wonder Pole Bean

Veronica Romanesco F1 Cauliflower

Purple Top Globe Turnip

Santee F1 Hybrid Sprouting Broccoli

Benning's Green Tint Squash

Rouge d'Hiver Lettuce


I'll start germinating the pepper, tomatillo, pumpkins and squash ASAP. I'm not sure how any of these plants will fare indoors, but I suspect we'll have to start maintaining a steady temperature in the lab. 



Laura